IEEE AP-S Awards

2013 AP-S Award Winners

Distinguished Achievement Award

Prabhakar H. Pathak

For introducing and establishing the Uniform Theory of Diffraction (UTD) as a computational tool in Electromagnetics (EM) and for innovative solutions to EM antenna/scattering problems

Chen-To Tai Distinquished Educator Award

Ahmed A. Kishk

For contributions and continuous improvements to teaching and research to prepare students for future careers in antennas and microwave circuits


John Kraus Award

Lotfollah Shafai

For contribution to the design and understanding of small high efficiency feeds and terminals, wideband planar antennas, low loss engineered conductors, and virtual array antennas

Donald G. Dudley Jr. Undergraduate Teaching Award

Reyhan Baktur

For excellence in teaching and mentoring, and the development of creative hands on electromagnetics laboratories 


Lot Shafai Mid-Career Distinguished Achievement Award


Marta Martinez-Vazquez

For contribution to the development of antenna systems for practical applications from UHF to mmwaves and giving visibility to women engineers


Best Paper Awards

Piergiorgio L.E. Uslenghi Letters Prize Paper Award

Pietro Vinetti, Michele D’Urso, and Massimiliano Dispenza

“Increasing Phased Arrays Resilience via Photonic Sensor Network Feedback,” IEEE Antennas Wireless Propag. Lett., vol. 11, pp. 901–904, 2012. 


R.W.P. King Award

Rick Kindt

“Prototype Design of a Modular Ultrawideband Wavelength-Scaled Array of Flared Notches,” IEEE Trans. Antennas Propag., vol. 60, no. 3, pp. 1320–1328, Mar. 2012. 


Harold A. Wheeler Prize Paper Award


Mohammad Tayeb Ghasr, Mohamed Abou-Khousa, Sergey Kharkovsky, Reza Zoughi, and
David Pommerenke
“Portable Real-Time Microwave Camera at 24 GHz,” IEEE Trans. Antennas Propag., vol. 60, no. 2, pp. 1114 – 1125, Feb. 2012. 


Sergei A. Schelkunoff Prize Paper Award


Qing He, Houle Gan, and Dan Jiao
“Explicit Time-Domain Finite-Element Method Stabilized for an Arbitrarily Large Time Step,” IEEE Trans. Antennas Propag., vol. 60, no. 11, pp. 5240–5250, Nov. 2012.


Edward E. Altshuler Prize Paper Award


Christopher Holloway, Edward Kuester, Joshua Gordon, John O’Hara, Jim Booth, and David
“An Overview of the Theory and Applications of Metasurfaces: The Two-Dimensional Equivalents of Metamaterials,” IEEE Antennas Propag. Mag., vol. 54, no. 2, pp. 10–35, Apr. 2012.

>> The main IEEE Award Web Page