



The First Joint IEEE AP-MTT-EMC Workshop was a Success!

Unlike the common practice to host a single lecturer, it was encouraged by the AP-S Distinguished Lecturer Program Director, Prof. Levent Sevgi, to go for an inter-society event, whose suggestion was aligned with various earlier IEEE memorandums, yet never actually put into practice thus far. This intent then received support from instances of the two sister societies (EMC and MTT) and a door to a joint event was open.

The first joint (inter-society) Distinguished Lecturer (DL) workshop was hosted by the IEEE AP-S Croatia Chapter and co-hosted by the MTT-S and EMC-S Croatia Chapters. The workshop was held on April 12, 2024, in Zagreb, Croatia, simultaneously as an in-person and an online event!

"The First 1-day Joint AP-S/MTT-S/EMC-S Distinguished Lecturer Workshop" was a great success, with interesting talks of the distinguished lecturers, interactive Q&A minutes, nice turnout of domestic and foreign attendees (on-site and online), and a great atmosphere among the participants during social moments of coffee breaks, lunch, guided sightseeing of the city, and the dinner!

Dr. Miroslav Joler of the University of Rijeka, Professor & IEEE AP-S Croatia Chapter Chair was the workshop organizer and the moderator. The speakers were: Dr. Branislav M. Notaros of Colorado State University (USA), Professor & IEEE AP-S President; Dr. Piero Angeletti of European Space Agency (The Netherlands), ESA Radio Frequency Payloads and Technology Division Head & inter-society DL of IEEE AP-S & MTT-S; Dr. Yarú Méndez, Simón Bolívar University (Venezuela), Professor & IEEE EMC-S DL; Dr. Cristiano Tomassoni, University of Perugia (Italy), Associate Professor & IEEE MTT-S DL; and Dr. Levent Sevgi, IEEE AP-S DL Program Chair and Past DL.

Here is a 3.5-min summary video of the event: https://lnkd.in/d4aaXX-F



Photo: Standing from the left: Dr. Piero Angeletti (AP-S / MTT-S DL), Prof. Levent Sevgi (DLP Chair and Past AP-S DL), Prof. Branislav Notaros (AP-S President), Prof. Miroslav Joler (AP-S Croatia Chair, organizer, and moderator), Prof. Yarú Méndez (EMC-S DL), and Prof. Cristiano Tomassoni (MTT-S DL)















Till next time!

Sincerely,

Prof. Miroslav Joler AP-S Croatia Chair