ieee antennas propagation society engineers education students

antenna signal processing radio astronomy engineering space communication

wireless mobile satellite telecommunications applied optics electromagnetic waves



IEEE AP-S Awards 2023

Each year the AP-S recognizes individuals or groups of individuals who have made an impact on technology or the society in distinct ways. The 2023 AP-S Awards are denoted by the Society's Field Awards and Best Paper Awards. The Field Awards recognize distinguished contributions based upon technical achievements and/or excellence in education and teaching. Recipients are determined based on nominations and recommendations from AP-S society members. The Best Paper Awards recognize outstanding contributions in the 2022 issues of the IEEE Transactions on Antennas and Propagation, the Antennas and Wireless Propagation Letters, and the Antennas and Propagation Magazine. Papers are evaluated based on recommendations from reviewers and the journal editors.

IEEE-Level Awards

IEEE Richard M. Emberson Award

Ross Stone

Ross Stone(post-humously)

For distinguished service advancing the technical objectives of the IEEE, with the following citation: "For sustained contributions to and impactful leadership in the IEEE Technical Activities publication enterprise".

IEEE AP-S Field Awards

2023 Outstanding Service Award

Yahya Rahmat-Samii

Yahya Rahmat-Samii

University of California, Los Angeles

To recognize significant contributions and outstanding service to the IEEE Antennas and Propagation Society.


2023 Distinguished Achievement Award

Andrea Alù

Andrea Alù

City University of New York

For pioneering contributions to metamaterial technologies and extreme electromagnetic wave phenomena

2023 Chen-To Tai Distinguished Educator Awards

Christos Christodoulou

Christos G. Christodoulou

University of New Mexico

In recognition of being an outstanding educator and a passionate mentor to both undergraduate and graduate students

Filiberto Bilotti

Filiberto Bilotti

ROMA TRE University

For being an inspiring educator, mentor, and contributor to the development of electromagnetic metamaterials, metasurfaces, and their applications

2023 John Kraus Antenna Award

Douglas H. Werner

Douglas H. Werner

The Pennsylvania State University

For innovative contributions to antenna theory and design including the application of transformation electromagnetics, metamaterials and global optimization techniques

2023 Lot Shafai Mid‐Career Distinguished Achievement Award

Asimina Kiourti

Asimina Kiourti

The Ohio State University

For her contributions to body area electromagnetics and her outreach efforts towards boosting womens’ proclivity to pursue careers in engineering

2023 Harrington-Mittra Award in Computational Electromagnetics

Atef Z. Elsherbeni

Atef Z. Elsherbeni

Colorado School of Mines

For contributions to computational electromagnetics with hardware acceleration techniques

2023 Donald G. Dudley Jr. Undergraduate Teaching Award

Hugo G. Espinosa

Hugo G. Espinosa

Griffith University

In recognition of his innovations in teaching and curriculum development, successfully equipping emerging generations of engineers with the skills needed to address important sustainability challenges

2023 IEEE Industry Awards

2023 Distinguished Industry Leader Award

Ulrich Rhode

Ulrich L. Rohde

Rohde & Schwarz

For the scientific contribution and leaderships to the field of Antennas and related Communication Systems, leading to development of state-of-the-art Antennas products for industrial, military and aerospace applications

2023 Industrial Innovation Award

Lars J. Foged

Lars J. Foged

Microwave Vision Group

For demonstrating visionary leadership in advancing the use of multi-probe technology for antenna measurements, standardization efforts, and pioneering innovation in antenna measurement and post-processing techniques

IEEE AP-S Paper Awards

2022 Sergei A. Schelkunoff Transactions Prize Paper Award

Charles A. Guo and Y. Jay Guo.

"A general approach for synthesizing multibeam antenna arrays employing generalized joined coupler matrix."

IEEE Transactions on Antennas and Propagation 70, no. 9 (2022): 7556-7564

2022 Harold A. Wheeler Applications Prize Paper Award

Ilias I. Giannakopoulos, Georgy D. Guryev, José EC Serrallés, Ioannis P. Georgakis, Luca Daniel, Jacob K. White and Riccardo Lattanzi.

"Compression of volume-surface integral equation matrices via Tucker decomposition for magnetic resonance applications."

IEEE transactions on antennas and propagation 70, no. 1 (2021): 459-471

2022 R. W. P. King Paper Award

Carl Pfeiffer

Carl Pfeiffer

Jeffrey Massman

Jeffrey Massman

"An UWB hemispherical Vivaldi array."

IEEE Transactions on Antennas and Propagation 70, no. 10 (2022): 9214-9224

2022 Piergiorgio L. E. Uslenghi Letters Prize Paper Award

Lukas Piotrowsky, Jan Barowski and Nils Pohl.

"Near-field effects on micrometer accurate ranging with ultra-wideband mmwave radar."

IEEE Antennas and Wireless Propagation Letters 21, no. 5 (2022): 938-942

2022 Edward E. Altschuler AP-S Magazine Prize Paper Award

Miloslav Capek and Kurt Schab.

"Computational aspects of characteristic mode decomposition: An overview."

IEEE Antennas and Propagation Magazine 64, no. 2 (2022): 23-31

IEEE AP-S Donor Recognition

A selection of IEEE Antennas and Propagation Society’s (AP-S) world class awards portfolio that recognize excellence in contributions to physics research, service, and teaching are funded through the generosity of donors to the IEEE Foundation. Thanks to these donors, AP-S has the resources to energize innovation by celebrating technological excellence.

AP-S Awards supported by giving to the IEEE Foundation include:

IEEE AP-S Eugene F Knott Memorial Pre-doctoral Research Award
  • Through the generous support of Terri L. Craig
IEEE Ulrich L. Rohde Technical Field Project Award
  • Through the generous support of Dr. Ulrich L. Rohde
IEEE AP-S CJ Reddy Travel Grant for Graduate Students
  • Through the generous support of Dr. C. J. Reddy
Raj Mittra Travel Grant
  • Through the generous support of Dr. Raj Mittra
IEEE John Kraus Antenna Award
  • Through the generous support of Dr. John D. Kraus, Jr.
IEEE Antennas and Propagation Society Edward E. Altshuler Prize Paper Award
  • Through the generous support of Edward E. Altshuler
IEEE Lot Shafai Mid-Career Distinguished Achievement Award
  • Through the generous support of Lotfollah Shafai
IEEE Harrington-Mittra Award
  • Through the generous support of Roger F. Harrington & Dr. Raj Mittra
IEEE Ulrich L. Rohde Innovative Conference Paper Awards on Computational Techniques in Electromagnetics
  • Through the generous support of Dr. Ulrich L. Rohde
IEEE Ulrich L. Rohde Innovative Conference Paper Awards on Antenna Measurements and Applications
  • Through the generous support of Dr. Ulrich L. Rohde
Chen-To Tai Distinguished Educator Award
  • Through the generous support of the Family and Friends of Professor Chen-To Tai

The IEEE Foundation is a leader in transforming lives through the power of technology and education. The IEEE Foundation is committed to transparency and impact, receiving 100/100 points on Charity Navigator and a Gold rating on Guidestar so you can feel confident that your investment is making an impact.

If you’re interested in making or learning more about a philanthropic gift to IEEE, please reach out to the IEEE Foundation team at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.. Learn more about the IEEE Foundation at